Champions League

Lewandowski named player of the year

levandovski nazvan igrokom goda

Bayern striker Robert Lewandowski has been named UEFA Player of the Year 2019/20.

The 32-year-old Polish international beat Manchester City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne and Bayern teammate Manuel Neuer. The award was announced during the 2020/21 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Geneva.

Top ten

Lewandowski reacts to Best Player honor

Lewandowski comments on Best Player award

1. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern) - 477 points
2 De Bruyne (Manchester City) - 90 points
3 Manuel Neuer (Bayern) - 66 points
4 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 53 points
= Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain) 53 points
6 Thomas Müller (Bayern) 41 points
7 Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain) 39 points
8 Thiago Alcantara (Bayern) 27 points
9 Joshua Kimmich (Bayern) 26 points
10 Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus) 25 points

Why did Lewandowski win the vote?

The 2019/20 season was one of the best in Bayern's 120-year history, and no player has contributed more than Lewandowski. The Poland striker has scored in every game en route to the UEFA Champions League final in Lisbon, scoring 15 goals and six assists, as well as capturing the long-awaited trophy. He also scored 34 goals in 31 Bundesliga matches and six in five German Cup matches.

2019/20 in numbers

Lewandowski: Watch all of his 2019/20 goals

Lewandowski: See all of his goals in the 2019/20 season

Achievements : UEFA Champions League winner, Bundesliga winner, German Cup winner, UEFA Champions League top scorer, UEFA Champions League top scorer, Bundesliga top scorer, Bundesliga best player of the season.

Uefa champions league
Matches: 10
Goals: 15
Assists: 6

Domestic League
Matches: 31
Goals: 34
Assists: 4

How Lewandowski was chosen

The jury consisted of 80 club coaches from the 2019/20 UEFA Champions League group stages (32) and the UEFA Europa League (48), as well as 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, one from each member association UEFA.

The jury selected the three best players: the first received five points, the second three and the third. Coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their team.

Reviews Lewandowski

2020 final highlights: Paris 0-1 Bayern

2020 final: PSG 0-1 Bayern Munich

“He works so hard for the team. He is important to our protection as he provides support and there is no need to say anything about the kind of danger he poses in front of the goal. He is very professional and works very hard. He's the best center player. striker in the world. "
Hansi Flick, coach of Bayern Munich

“I haven't seen the best player in the whole year. He sacrifices a lot for the sake of success, and for me he absolutely deserves to be called the best footballer in the world. "
Lothar Matthäus, former captain of Bavaria and Germany

“He is perhaps the best professional I have ever met here. His diet, his lifestyle ... Everything is aimed at success. The question is whether Robert at 35 will be even better than Cristiano Ronaldo at 35 ”.
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, CEO of Bavaria

What is the UEFA Player of the Year award?

For this award, players in Europe, regardless of nationality, were judged according to their performance throughout the season in all competitions - both domestically and internationally - at the club or national team level.

Previous winners *

Van Dijk won the award in 2019

Van Dijk won the award in 2019 Getty Images

2019/20 ─ Robert Lewandowski (Bavaria and Poland)
2018/19 ─
Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and the Netherlands)
─ Luka Modric (Real Madrid and Croatia)
2016/17 ─ Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid and Portugal)
2015/16 ─ Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid and Portugal)
2014/15 ─ Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)
2013/14 ─ Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid and Portugal)
2012/13 ─ Franck Ribéry (Bavaria and France)
2011/12 ─ Andres Iniesta (Barcelona and Spain)
2010/11 ─ Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

* From 2010/11 to 2015/16 inclusive, he is known as the best player in Europe by UEFA.

The rest of the prize winners

UEFA Player of the Year: Pernille Harder
Male Coach of the Year: Hansi Flick
Women's Coach of the Year: Jean-Luc Wasser
Male Goalkeeper of the Season: Manuel Neuer
Men's Defender of the Season: Joshua Kimmich
Best Midfielder of the Season for Men: Kevin De Bruyne
Men's forward of the season: Robert Lewandowski
Women's Goalkeeper of the Season: Sarah Buhaddi
Women's Defender of the Season: Wendy Renard
Women's Midfielder of the Season: Zenifer Marojan
Women's forward of the season: Pernille Harder
UEFA President's Prize: Didier Drogba

Показать больше

Последние новости

Back to top button